History

The Church of the Crucifixion was founded in 1847 as the second Black church in the Episcopal Diocese of Pennsylvania. 

Our history has been long and fascinating. The Church of the Crucifixion has endured fire, changes in its neighborhood of Bella Vista in South Philadelphia, welcoming people from many backgrounds.

Today, the Church of the Crucifixion, led by the Rev. Jessie (Yesenia) Alejandro, ministers to all people, specifically focusing on the growing Hispanic population in the city of Philadelphia.

We are a bi-lingual church with masses concurrently spoken in Spanish and English. All are welcome.

Please watch this YouTube video, a short introduction to the history of the Church of the Crucifixion. Video of the Episcopal The Church of the Crucifixion in Philadelphia, PA, produced by Michael Krasulski and moderated by Gabriella Machado.